St Swithun's CE Primary SchoolGrundy Crescent, Kennington, Oxford OX1 5PS

Our Governors


Welcome to the Governors’ section of the St Swithun’s School website.

This section deals exclusively with Governing Body matters and I hope it will convey a broad outline of the role of Governors, tell you the kinds of people we are and show you how we go about our task of supporting the Headteacher and her staff in building on the considerable strengths of the school and in so doing ensuring all aspects of the school (quality of teaching, leadership and management, behaviour, safety and achievement of pupils) continue to improve.
Helen Forey – Chair of Governors

Copies of the minutes of all governor meetings are available to read in the school office

Governor Attendance for 2016/2017
Annual Statement 2016/2017
Register of Business Interests

What is our role?

Good governance at a school is of huge importance and can have a considerable impact on the success of a school.

At St Swithun’s, governors play an active role in school life, champion ambition and high educational standards and work in strategic partnership with the Headteacher and staff to ensure our school continues to improve. Governors, as a corporate body, have a legal responsibility for the school.

The role of the governing body is a strategic one and its key functions are to:- 

  • set the aims and objectives for our school 
  • set the policies for achieving those aims and objectives 
  • set the targets for achieving those aims and objectives 
  • monitor and evaluate the progress the school is making towards achievement of its aims and objectives
  • be a source of challenge and support to the Headteacher (a critical friend)

The Headteacher is responsible for the internal organisation, management and control of the school and the implementation of the strategic framework established by the governing body.

Governors have statutory responsibilities such as safeguarding, health and safety compliance, effective curriculum planning and delivery, equality, inclusion, admissions and attendance . Specific strategic responsibilities include Headteacher recruitment, the school staff structure, performance management and pay, the school budget and ultimately raising standards in the interest of continuous school improvement and becoming an outstanding school for all pupils, their parents and carers and the wider community.

Composition of the Governing Body

The governing body has representatives from parents, the Local Authority, teaching staff, the community and the Diocese. The St Swithun’s School Instrument of Government, a legal document that was made effective in 2005 and updated in 2015 following reconstitution of the Governing Body, records the Body's composition:-

Governor Category Allocation  Actual Election
Headteacher  1  1 Automatically Appointed
Staff Governor  1  1 Elected by, and from among the school's teaching and non-teaching staff
Parent Governor  4  4 Elected by, and from among the parents
Co-opted Governor  2  2 Appointed by members of the governing body. Currently includes 1 member of staff
Foundation Governor  3  2 Appointed by the Diocese
Local Authority Governor  1  1 Appointed by the Local Authority

Who we are and our skills and experiences

St Swithun’s School is fortunate in the kinds of people who have volunteered to become governors. In addition, we are supported by Governor Services, who provide training and advice, and by the National Governors Association who provide opportunities for us to develop our knowledge of wider issues affecting schools. We have formed a Governance Forum with our local and partnership schools, including Appleton CE Primary School, Botley School and Elms Road Children’s Centre, Cumnor CE Primary School, Matthew Arnold School, North Hinksey CE Primary School and West Oxford Community Primary School. The forum is an opportunity to strengthen partnership links and share best governance practice.

The governing body receives support services and advice from an accredited clerk.

Our School Governors

Get to know our governors by clicking on their name.

 Position Name
Chairperson (HT Performance, safeguarding and e-safety link) Helen Forey
Vice Chairperson (Chair of Strategy and Resources committee)
Headteacher Helen Atkinson
Parent Governor (Inclusion, SEND and pupil premium) Claire Gilbert
Parent Governor (Sports funding) Tim Warner
Parent Governor (Data group and assessment) Alan Young
Co-opted Governor (S&R committee and maths link)David Williams
Parent GovernorGordon Buxton
Co-opted Governor (Staff) Andrea Kenny
Staff Governor Kevin Dando
Local Authority Governor Helen Forey
Foundation Governor Revd. Alison Mathew
Foundation Governor (Data group, S&R and pay committees, grammar punctuation and spelling link) Hugh Fleming
Clerk to the Governors Lucy Tyrrell